• Special Education Services


    A student may qualify for special education services after an assessment has been conducted in accordance with Federal Guidelines, has been found to have a disability, who because of those impairments requires special education and related services, and meets the criterion under one of the 13 categories for special education eligibility:

    • Autism
    • Deaf-Blindness
    • Deafness
    • Hearing Impairment
    • Intellectual Disability
    • Multiple Disabilities 
    • Orthopedic Impairment
    • Other Health Impairment 
    • Emotional Disturbance
    • Specific Learning Disability 
    • Speech or Language Impairment
    • Traumatic Brain Injury
    • Visual Impairment

    Based on a student's needs, a student may receive one or more of the following services: 

    • Specialized Academic Instruction
    • Speech Therapy
    • Occupational Therapy 
    • Adapted Physical Education
    • Behavior Health Services
    • Other Services May Apply Based on Individual Student Need(s)

    A full array of placement options exists to provide a continuum of services, based on the student's identified needs:

    • Push-In Support - Services/supports occur within the general education setting.
    • Pull-Out Support - Services/supports occur outside of the general education setting.
    • Small group Instruction within the Learning Center (Elementary Students) - Services/supports occur outside of the general education setting.
    • Study Table Support (Middle School/High School) - This course takes the place of an elective and is considered to be outside of the general education setting. 
    • Skills Level Core Courses (meet requirements for High School Diploma) - These are offered for Science, Math, English Language Arts, and History. All Skills level courses are considered outside of the general education setting. 
    • Moderate Skills (Certificate of Completion) - This placement option provides supports/services to our students who require intensive academic support. Moderate Skills level courses do not meet the requirements for a high school diploma. 
    • Specialized Learning Center (SLC) - From preschool to high school students who require a highly supported learning environment may be placed within a Specialized Learning Center. Students at the high school level would receive a Certificate of Completion upon completing High School. The classes taught within this program do not meet the requirments for a High School Diploma. Students in this program meet eligibility for enrollment in the Adult Transition Program. 
    • Social Emotional Learning Center (SELC) - Students with significant social emotional needs may be placed within a Social Emotional Learning Center on a comprehensive school site which provide students with supports and services. 
    • Compass - This is a self-contained program for students with more significant social emotional needs. 
    • Adult Transition Program (ATP) - This program placement is for students between the ages of 18 and 22 who have earned a Certificate of Completion. 



Last Modified on August 6, 2020