THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA REQUIRES THAT ALL MINORS (A PERSON UNDER THE AGE OF 18) HAVE A WORK PERMIT ON FILE AT THE WORKSITE BEFORE THE EMPLOYMENT IS LEGAL
Exceptions: Possession of a High School Diploma or Student is 18 years old
A minor not attending school is not eligible for a California Work Permit
- Step 1: Download or pick up the Work Permit Application from the Discipline or Student Services Office. To be eligible- the student must have a GPA of 2.0 or higher, good attendance, good citizenship, and a job offer (you must have a job offer before you can obtain a Work Permit).
- Step 2: Please make sure that you fill it out completely, include your social security number and signatures. The work permit, B1-1 form must be completed in blue or black ink and requires the signature of the student, the employer and the parent/guardian.
- Step 3: Email or drop off a very clear copy to email@example.com.You may also fax it to 559-735-3575.
- Step 4: Once Mrs. Molina receives this, it will take about 3-5 days to process. Mrs. Molina will call or email you to pick up your completed work permit.
- Step 5: The B1-4 is the document that the student needs to submit to his/her employer to be able to begin work.
If you have questions regarding work permits, please contact Mrs. Molina at firstname.lastname@example.org or at 735-3508. For more information on work permits, the General Summary of Minors' Work Regulations details the age and hours that a minor is legally allowed to work.
For more information about child labor laws, contact the U.S. Department of Labor at http://www.dol.gov/ and the State of California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement at http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/dlse.html