Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Special Education

A student may qualify for special education services after an assessment has been conducted in accordance with Federal Guidelines, has been found to have a disability, who because of those impairments requires special education and related services, and meets the criterion under one of the 13 categories for special education eligibility:

  • Autism
  • Deaf-Blindness
  • Deafness
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities 
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment 
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Specific Learning Disability 
  • Speech or Language Impairment
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment

Based on a student's needs, a student may receive one or more of the following services: 

  • Specialized Academic Instruction
  • Speech Therapy
  • Occupational Therapy 
  • Adapted Physical Education
  • Behavior Health Services
  • Other Services May Apply Based on Individual Student Need(s)

A full array of placement options exists to provide a continuum of services, based on the student's identified needs:

  • Push-In Support - Services/supports occur within the general education setting.
  • Pull-Out Support - Services/supports occur outside of the general education setting.
  • Small group Instruction within the Learning Center (Elementary Students) - Services/supports occur outside of the general education setting.
  • Study Table Support (Middle School/High School) - This course takes the place of an elective and is considered to be outside of the general education setting. 
  • Skills Level Core Courses (meet requirements for High School Diploma) - These are offered for Science, Math, English Language Arts, and History. All Skills level courses are considered outside of the general education setting. 
  • Moderate Skills (Certificate of Completion) - This placement option provides supports/services to our students who require intensive academic support. Moderate Skills level courses do not meet the requirements for a high school diploma. 
  • Specialized Learning Center (SLC) - From preschool to high school students who require a highly supported learning environment may be placed within a Specialized Learning Center. Students at the high school level would receive a Certificate of Completion upon completing High School. The classes taught within this program do not meet the requirments for a High School Diploma. Students in this program meet eligibility for enrollment in the Adult Transition Program. 
  • Social Emotional Learning Center (SELC) - Students with significant social emotional needs may be placed within a Social Emotional Learning Center on a comprehensive school site which provide students with supports and services. 
  • Compass - This is a self-contained program for students with more significant social emotional needs. 
  • Adult Transition Program (ATP) - This program placement is for students between the ages of 18 and 22 who have earned a Certificate of Completion.